Meet Argentina

Don't let the cuteness fool you: he is nothing but trouble

Don't let the cuteness fool you: he is nothing but trouble

This little bundle of trouble will probably crop up occasionally on the blog, so I thought I’d go ahead and get introductions out of the way.  Argentina, Internet.  Internet, Argentina.  Argentina is lazy, aloof, and absolutely adorable: in other words, a cat.  I’m slowly training him to be a lap cat, but for right now the corner of my desk is about as close as we can get.

Can you tell he belongs to a grad student?

Can you tell he belongs to a grad student?

Wanna know why his name is Argentina?  Well, see, Argentina loves the great outdoors.  This is his favorite hobby:

Also known in some circles as "fluffbutt"

Also known in some circles as "fluffbutt"

Argentina loves the great outdoors.  Loves. It. Wants to be a part of it so badly that he’ll sit at the windows for hours and chatter with the birds.  Sometimes the urge to go outside is so consuming that he will sit by the door and howl unconsolably.  This prompts a rousing rendition of “Don’t Cry For Me…”, hence the name.  I guess that makes me Eva Peron.  Or Madonna, but I think I prefer Eva.

Since he is quite insistent on his desire to explore the Great Outdoors, and I am equally insistent that the Great Outdoors in Baltimore is nothing more than a back alley with rats bigger than him (and he ain’t small), we’ve had to compromise.

Crazy Cat Lady? Oh Yeah. I'm there.

Crazy Cat Lady? Oh Yeah. I'm there.

I think he’s happy.  I’m happy. The neighbors get a good laugh.  What more can you ask for?

I wish I had this life.

I wish I had this life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

